

## Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

March 24, 2023

The Honorable Kay Granger Chairman House Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member House Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Robert Aderholt
Chairman
House Appropriations Committee –
Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies
Appropriations.
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Granger, Ranking Member DeLauro, and Chairman Aderholt:

We write in support of the Low-Income Household Water Assistance Program (LIHWAP) and request that the House Appropriations Committee support a funding level of \$500 million for the program in FY24 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Appropriations.

LIHWAP provides critical funding for low-income households with their water and wastewater bills. This program was essential during the COVID-19 pandemic, helping families keep their water on and their families safe. While this program has proven its ability to assist American households, we believe the program has the potential to have a wider impact, independent from but similar to the Low-Income Household Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP).

When considering any changes or updates to the existing LIHWAP structure, we believe it is important to include modifications that improve enrollment and minimize barriers to implementation. Specifically, everyone who is already eligible for other federal income-based assistance programs, such as SNAP, LIHEAP, TANF, and Veterans programs should be eligible for LIHWAP, and where possible, enrollment in LIHWAP should be automatic. Universal eligibility could be mandated in the appropriations bill or via updated regulations from HHS. Automatic enrollment for people served by large water utilities can be achieved using modern technology but will require significant data sharing and communication among local municipalities, state governments, utilities, and the federal government.

Further, the equitable use of funds must be considered in any proposed change to the program structure. We recommend that the equitable use of funds includes but is not limited to: paying arrearages; reconnection fees, plumbing costs for fixing leaks that result in high bills; tax liens;

and direct grant payments to renters. We are also concerned that much of the funding already allocated to LIHWAP is going unspent due, in part, to overly restrictive enrollment requirements, limiting its effectiveness to the American public and understating the need for water assistance on the whole. We urge the Committee to work with the Administration to expeditiously spend already-appropriated LIHWAP funding, or to allow for unspent funds to be rolled into the FY 24 appropriation.

LIHWAP is a vital, necessary program that, like many in the federal government, needs some thoughtful tweaks to maximize its effectiveness. But our residents cannot wait for policymakers to create a perfect program – they need assistance now. Providing an appropriation of \$500 million is strong first step on the path towards true water affordability in the United States.

Thank you for your consideration of this request, and we look forward to working with you further.

Sincerely,

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar

Member of Congress

Janana Hayes Mombor of Co

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Stacey E/Plaskett

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Troy Carter
Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Januil T. Kiedes

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Wike Ten

Kate Port

Katie Porter Member of Congress Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Dwight Evans
Member of Congress